Bedtime Blogging 4.14.15

DSCF4024

…I wish I could sleep as easily as my furbaby! I swear she can sleep anywhere!

The past two nights I feel like I have been stuck in that place where you know you need to sleep and you are tired but it is impossible to do get your mind to stop racing for more than a few seconds. So I though maybe I should start blogging more often before going to bed, to get some of those pesky thoughts out of my head!

I am working on a post about my frustrations with my job, but for right now I just feel like babbling on a it about random things! I am not sure why, but today was just a really great day for once. I mean, I am definitely tired and need to actually get a good night’s rest (fingers crossed for tonight being better!), but for some reason I just felt really at peace today with everything I did. It wasn’t an eventful day or really anything great happening, but it was one of the best days I have had in awhile.

After sleeping in way too late I awoke to our horribly messy apartment. We went for a mini vacation to Atlantic City (I’ll probably write a post about that- seriously, maybe I really can’t sleep because I have too many words and ideas in my head!) and then went to my parent’s house for Easter and then we busy and the apartment and housework really all fell badly behind. Like, sink overflowing with dishes and honey-we-don’t-have-any-more-clean-plates-or-utensils-to-use behind… It wasn’t good. I really wish I knew why, but doing the dishes just didn’t feel like quite the chore that it usually does. For once my brain wasn’t wandering or worrying or feeling bored. I just… washed dishes. It was nice. Then I vacuumed like a mad woman since my fiance borrowed his parent’s vacuum for us to use (ugh it is definitely frustrating not having our own but we can’t afford to buy one…) so I finally got the floor all clean. Cleaned out the microwave and even scrubbed the kitchen floor. I was on a roll!

I think maybe my mood has been on the upswing lately because I have been making great strides in my minimalizing lately and it makes me feel good and in control of something. We have been in our apartment for almost 3 months now (jeez!) and I am so close to having everything that I own in this small space (which also makes me excited to be able to return to my MIP series!). I got some motivation from my mom wanting to redo my bedroom and wanting to get rid of the dresser in there. So I had to clean that out (there’s another post to write right there, feeling weird about your room not being yours anymore…). And I really did set my goal of wanting to have everything out of my closet and actually in my living space to count for my… well, count! (and another post right there about item accountability! I have so many potential posts to choose from I don’t have any excuses not to write!)- so I have been pretty motivated! I ended up with another 4 large garbage bags of stuff to take to donation.

If my memory is serving me right all I have left at my parent’s is a container of my canning jars, a box of old magazines that I don’t know what to do with, all of my binders of notes from vet tech school (I can’t bring myself to throw them away just yet if for whatever reason I decide to go back to that career), 3 coats, and storing some empty DVD cases and Christmas stuff… I might be missing something, but I think I got most of it. So yeah, everything else I own is with me. I brought a lot of my stuff back with me the last time and am currently going through it. I can’t wait to be done, even though I know it will be a work in progress. It just gets harder and harder though because the point I am at now is one where the things I have left are a bit harder to part with. So my current plan is to let go of what I can, but photograph it and make posts on here about it, so that even though the object is gone I can still have the memories (and that’s what is really important anyway)! And I guess I’ll just go from there and maybe set limits for myself.

So anyway! Back to my day- cleaned a lot and made the place look as sparkling as I could, spent a good deal of time going through things and went through a whole large storage container, and then rearranged my desk a bit. Still a work in progress, but it is turning out nicely! Once I finish this round I will take pictures to show my progress. After my long day of cleaning and de-cluttering, M and I made some dinner and then walked to the library. The weather outside was just perfect. Then we came back, watched the movie and relaxed. And now here I am, awake way too late and blogging!

I just can’t believe how happy it makes me feel to let go of things. How liberating it is to know you really don’t need much of anything to be happy. I am sure these feelings will be tested in the future, but it just feels so good right now and makes me feel so much more at peace. I really have almost everything I need in life and don’t need to bring in new things to bring that feeling. It is already there. I just hope I don’t forget it.

Well I guess that is all for now. Sorry for this random ramble of a post. It was nice to write though and get some thoughts out, plus it helped me come up with a nice list of future post ideas! So that’s good. I hope everyone is doing well!

 

Leave a comment